Delicious Chicken Pot Pie

Delicious Chicken Pot PieSince moving to Hong Kong, I’ve had trouble finding pre-made pie crust in the grocery stores. Though I’ve made pie crust from scratch before, I’m not above using store-bought crust.

The thing about Hong Kong grocery stores is they are so small that their stock is usually unpredictable. I finally found Pillsbury pie crust this weekend and decided I would make Chicken Pot Pie immediately.

My favorite Chicken Pot Pie recipe comes from Ina Garten and the Food Network. She roasts the chicken before putting together the pie filling, which brings in more herbs and flavors to the pot pie.

Take a look at her recipe. If you’re making just one large pie, you can practically cut the recipe for the filling in the half. I prefer to use fresh sliced celery over frozen peas. I also usually skip the small whole onions. There are tons of other veggies you can try: asparagus, sliced mushrooms, yellow corn.

We have a small oven in Hong Kong, so I only cooked the pie for 35 minutes (instead of an hour). Depending on the size of your pie and the size of your oven, the cooking time may vary. Keep an eye on the pie, don’t just walk away. This pie is delicious – it’s worth the time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

