Roast Chicken with Lemon, Rosemary, Thyme and Garlic

Roast Chicken with Lemon, Rosemary, Thyme and Garlic

I’m not much of a chicken eater, but I LOVE roast chicken. Something about it just makes my mouth water. Last Sunday, I decided to roast a chicken, so I bought a 3 lb chicken, two lemons, a head of garlic and sprigs of rosemary. I grow thyme in my backyard, so no need to buy thyme!

I used a recipe from Ina Garten as my guide (I always start with a recipe, then add my own touches and improvise along the way). It calls for many of the same ingredients with the addition of laying slices of bacon on top. Not in the mood for bacon, so I skipped that step. If you like what you see in the picture, here’s how I roasted this baby…

Ingredients

1 chicken (3-4 lbs)

Salt

Black Pepper

4 sprigs fresh rosemary

4 sprigs fresh thyme

2 lemons, cut in half

1 head of garlic, cut in half lengthwise

3 Tbsp butter, melted

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Cut 2 lemons in half. Remove seeds. Cut head of garlic in half lengthwise (you don’t have to remove the skin). Prepare 4 sprigs each of thyme and rosemary.

3. Melt 3 Tbsp butter in the microwave in a small dish.

4. Remove chicken from packaging, rinse. Lay chicken in roasting pan (breast up) and pat dry with paper towels. Remove gizzards (or leave them in if you like them!). TIP: If you don’t like touching raw meat, use plastic gloves. I do!

3. Stuff chicken with lemons, garlic, rosemary and thyme.

4. Melt 2-3 Tbsp butter in the microwave and rub all over the chicken. Rub salt and pepper all over chicken. Make sure the chicken ends up breast up.

5. Tie chicken legs together with kitchen string. TIP: Dental floss works, too.

6. Tuck wings under the body of chicken.

7. Roast the chicken for 40 minutes. Chicken is cooked when its juices run clear when you cut between a leg and thigh.

8. Take chicken out of the oven and let sit 5-10 minutes.

9. Serve!

Again – this chicken was DELICIOUS! I roasted some potatoes on the side, but I think I’ll throw onions, potatoes and carrots into my roasting pan next time so they can absorb the flavoring and juices of the chicken.

Do you have a fantastic roast chicken recipe? Leave a comment and let me know. If you try the recipe, I’d love to hear how it turns out, too!

Leave a Reply

