Creamy Pesto Fettucine with Mushrooms, Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Fettucine with Mushrooms, Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Creamy Pesto

Creamy Pesto Fettucine, Mushrooms, Sun-Dried Tomatoes

When I think of dressed up pasta, I think of creamy pasta. If I’m in the mood for a slightly richer and more elegant pasta dish, I add in mascarpone cheese to make it creeeeeamy. For me, the sauce is all that matters. You can use whatever noodles you want, though I recommend linguine or fettucine. You can also add whatever else you want to the pasta – fresh vegetables, chicken, sausage, etc. I often like to cook fresh asparagus with creamy pasta and risotto, but since we didn’t have any, I went with cremini mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes (I buy a jar of these stored in oil from Trader Joe’s).

I made the pesto from scratch (see my homemade pesto recipe).

I like to use a full tub of mascarpone, but if it’s too rich for you, try just using half.

Ingredients

1 lb fettucine pasta

Olive oil

1 C cremini mushrooms, sliced

2 1/2 C pesto

1/4 C sun-dried tomatoes

1 8-ounce tub of mascarpone cheese

Salt

Pepper

Grated Parmesan for garnish (optional)

Directions

1. Cook fettucine according to the instructions on its package.

2. When the pasta is cooked, drain out the water by pouring pasta into a colander in the sink (or, if using a pasta basket, take out the basket and dump the water).

3. Toss the pasta with 1-2 Tbsp of olive oil to keep it from sticking.

4. Place the pot back on the stove and turn heat to medium. Pour 1 Tbsp of olive oil into the pan.

5. When oil is heated, pour in sliced cremini mushrooms and saute over medium heat for 4 minutes.

6. Once the mushrooms are cooked, turn the heat to low and add the pasta back to the pot.

7. Add pesto sauce and sun-dried tomatoes and toss until well mixed.

8. Add tub of mascarpone cheese and toss until well mixed.

9. Add salt and pepper to taste.

10. Serve pasta with grated Parmesan sprinkled on top (optional).

As I mentioned, you can add in different vegetables and meat to change up this dish. If you find a great combination, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

