How to Make Pesto

Homemade Pesto Ingredients

Ingredients for Homemade Pesto

The first time I tasted pesto, I was thirteen or fourteen years old and at my friend Sarah’s house for dinner. Her mom cooked  roasted chicken and pesto pasta, and I immediately fell in love. Since that day, I’ve grown to eat pesto on almost anything, including pasta, chicken, salmon, rice, you name it.

Interested in starting your own love affair with pesto? Try making it from scratch! If you’ve got a food processor, it’s SUPER quick and easy. Though I always uses Ina Garten’s recipe for pesto as a jumping off point, I make a few tweaks of my own, including cutting the amount of garlic in half. I also like to up quantities of nuts and cheese – yum!

Ingredients

1/2 Parmesan cheese, cubed

1/2 C pine nuts

2 cloves garlic

Salt

3 C (packed) basil

1 C olive oil

Dash lemon juice

Directions

1. Place cubes of Parmesan in the food processor and process 30-45 seconds, until very finely chopped. Empty “grated” Parmesan into a bowl and set aside.

2. Place pine nuts in the food processor.

3. Remove skin from garlic cloves. Place garlic in the food processor with the pine nuts and process for 25 seconds.

4. Add the basil leaves, salt and 1/2 C olive oil. Process for 30-40 seconds. Scrape down the sides.

5. Add the remaining oil and a dash of lemon juice. Process for another 45 seconds, or until finely pureed.

6. Add in the Parmesan and process for another 20 seconds.

7. Enjoy!

Comments
One Response to “How to Make Pesto”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I made the pesto from scratch (see my homemade pesto recipe). […]



Leave a Reply

