Caprese Salad

Caprese Salad

Heirloom tomatoes, basil and fresh mozzarella

With so many great farmer’s markets around the city, it’s tough not to gorge on summer fruits and heirloom tomatoes. Two of my favorite dishes to eat during the summer months are bruschetta and Caprese salad. Variations on the same theme, these delectable dishes can be made in 10-15 minutes and work well for snack, starters and simple suppers.

For the Caprese salad, after slicing up heirloom tomatoes and fresh mozzarella, arrange them 1:1 with a basil leaf for each round. Though traditional Caprese salads have just olive oil, salt and pepper for dressing, my husband and I love to add a touch of balsamic vinegar mixed with mustard and garlic powder. If you don’t have time to make your own dressing, just purchase a balsamic vinaigrette.

Last, we toast up some slices of sourdough bread, brushing them with olive oil and sprinkling garlic salt and grated Parmesan cheese on top before popping into a 425 degree Fahrenheit oven for 10-15 minutes.

Voila!

Comments
One Response to “Caprese Salad”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Posted by jennaboller on October 4, 2010 · Leave a Comment  I have Sundays where I love to spend hours cooking some of my favorite comfort food dishes, like chicken pot pie, beef stew and more, but today was not one of the those Sundays. My husband and I were in the mood for a simple supper, so I decided to roast some mushrooms the way my dear friend and colleague showed me at a recent dinner party. Paring that with toasted baguette, we instantly had a bruschetta, and finished off the meal with a chopped Caprese salad. (See my recipe for Caprese salad.) […]



Leave a Reply

