Green Bean Casserole

Green Bean CasseroleGreen bean casserole is one of my favorite dishes of all time. I used to love when my Mom would make it and cringe when I’d have a bad rendition of this simple dish at various pot lucks.

I decided to make a pre-Thanksgiving dinner this past weekend and wanted to include green bean casserole in the meal. I’ve always had this dish served out of a casserole dish, but I decided to make it in an iron skillet since some of the recipe called for sauteing mushrooms and onions first.

I didn’t feel like chopping an onion, so I chopped up some shallots instead and sauteed these in 1 Tbsp butter and 1Tbsp olive oil along with the sliced cremini mushrooms.

Then, dumped in two cans of drained green beans, 1/4 C water and a can of cream of mushroom soup and brought everything to a quick boil before turning off the heat and topping off the pan with fried onions. Then, in a 350 degree Fahrenheit oven, I baked the casserole for 15-20 minutes, until the onions on top were golden brown.

Voila! Ready to serve and super simple.

Comments
One Response to “Green Bean Casserole”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] prepared a green bean casserole that afternoon, so all I had to do was heat the casserole for 5-10 minutes on the stove and we were […]



Leave a Reply

