Broccoli Chicken

Broccoli ChickenBroccoli beef is perhaps one of the most popular Chinese fast food dishes (perhaps with the exception of orange chicken). Neither my husband nor I are big red meat eaters (we tend to reserve our red meat quota for steak), so we make broccoli chicken instead. The dish is SUPER easy to make and, yet, fairly hearty!

I’m not even going to type out a formal recipe. Sure, I take for granted that I grew up watching my mom and grandmother cooking easy Chinese food, but it’s really super simple.

I like to use frozen chicken tenders because I eat meat so frequently that I don’t like to go shopping for it more than once every week or two, but you can easily use fresh chicken breasts. You’ll want about 1 1/2-2 cups of cubed chicken breast (5-7 tenders or 1-2 breasts). On top of that, I tend to use a bag of pre-cut, pre-washed broccoli from Trader Joe’s. You can also use one head of broccoli or two small heads if you prefer to cut yourself.

As you’re chopping your chicken and broccoli, start cooking some white Jasmine rice. For you healthy folks, you’ll probably want to make brown rice.

Once you’ve prepped the chicken and broccoli, it’s time to stir fry! Next, the “magic” (or rather, not so magic) ingredients…

The keys to almost any quick and easy Chinese stir fry (for me at least) are:

  • Soy sauce
  • Oyster sauce
  • Sesame oil

That’s all you really need. Sure, you can use other things (including MSG), but as long as I have these three bottles in my pantry, I’m set!

I start out almost every stir fry by heating olive oil in my non-stick wok over medium-high heat. Once it’s fairly hot, I add 1 Tablespoon of dry, minced garlic (I prefer this to chopping my own fresh, #1, because then my hands don’t smell like garlic and, #2, because it doesn’t burn as quickly as fresh garlic). Next, add the chicken, 2 Tablespoons soy sauce and 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper. Stir and cook for 3-4 minutes, until meat is approximately 70% cooked.

I then add the broccoli and about a 1/2 cup of water, stir and cover, turning the heat to high. Let cook for 4-5 minutes. This is when the broccoli steams and the chicken finishes cooking. Make sure to check your water level and add more water as needed to ensure the dish doesn’t burn.

When the broccoli turns a nice bright green and the chicken is firm to the prod, add in another teaspoon of soy sauce and 1 1/2 teaspoons of oyster sauce (I usually just eyeball this… the sauce is so thick, I try to get at least 5-6 good “drops” onto the dish. Too few, and you won’t have enough flavor… too many and your dish will be too salty.) Stir and let cook for another minute. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil and stir for a minute. Turn off the heat and serve hot over rice.

Hope you enjoy this healthy one pot dish!

Leave a Reply

