Chicken Adobo

Chicken Adobo

Chicken Adobo

I recently had the privilege of spending a week in the Philippines for work and vacation. My husband and I spent a long weekend diving in Puerto Galera, and I stayed in Manila for three days of meetings. During my trip, I found a lot of good company, good diving and good food!

It seems like everywhere we went, the food was amazing – Filipino, Thai, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Korean and more. You name it – they have it, and it’s yummy!

During my week between Puerto Galera and Manila, I tried chicken adobo, which is the national dish of the Philippines. I enjoyed it so much I ran back home to try cooking it myself. I made the chicken along with garlic fried rice, which Filipinos tend to eat for breakfast as well as lunch and dinner.

The recipe is quite simple. I ended up using the chicken adobo recipe from the Food Network with a couple tweaks, but since there are only six ingredients, you’ll find almost the same recipe wherever you look. Though I made the dish over the stove, you can also cook in a crockpot. This dish also makes great leftovers, so don’t be afraid to double (or even triple) the recipe!

Ingredients (for the Chicken Adobo – serves 2-3 people)

5 Chicken thighs

1/2 C Soy sauce

1/2 C White vinegar

4-5 Garlic Cloves, minced

3 Bay leaves

1 Tsp Black peppercorns

Ingredients (for the Garlic Rice – serves 2-3 people)

2 Tbsp Olive oil

4 C White Jasmine rice

4 1/2 C Water

4 cloves Garlic, finely chopped

1 tsp Salt (or to taste)

1 tsp Pepper (or to taste)

Directions (for both)

1. Combine the soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, bay leaves and peppercorns in a saucepan.

2. Add the chicken thighs and coat well. Place in the refrigerator to marinate for 1-3 hours.

3. While the chicken is marinating, cook the rice with the water (I use a rice cooker, but if you don’t have one, learn how to cook rice the old fashioned way).

4. After the chicken has marinated, place the pot on stove over high heat.

5. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 20-30 minutes, until chicken is cooked, but tender.

6. While the chicken is simmering, place the garlic and olive oil into a wok and heat on high.

7. Once the garlic begins to cook, add the salt and pepper and stir for a minute turning down the heat to medium-high.

8. Add the cooked rice and stir for 1-2 minutes.

9. Turn down the heat to medium-low and continue to stir until the rice is thoroughly heated.

10. Serve the chicken over your garlic rice, making sure to ladle in sufficient sauce!

Leave a Reply

