Pad Ka-Prao

Pad Ka-PraoDuring my trip to Thailand, I had a wonderful dish called Pad Ka-Prao. I happen to love ground pork and rice dishes, and the dish’s flavor of basil plus a hint of chili is fantastic. Check out the original photo of my Pad Ka-Prao dish.

As I wrote last week, I was disappointed not to have time for a Thai cooking class, but I came home to search for a Pad Ka Prao recipe online. To my surprise, it’s actually quite simple to make! Even better, I already had most of the ingredients in my pantry.

Taking some inspiration from Leela at SheSimmers, I modified her recipe for Pad Ka-Prao. I’ve substituted in hoisin sauce for sweet sauce. In addition, since I don’t have a mortar and pestle in my small Hong Kong kitchen, I minced the garlic, chili and shallots all together instead of grinding them together. I have to admit, I also toned down the chilies quite a bit as it was my first time cooking with them and I wasn’t sure what to expect.

The dish turned out really well! Next, time, I’m going to use even more basil. I was short on time, so I also skipped the fried egg. I can’t wait to cook this again. My husband loved it, too!

Some day, I hope for my food photos to be as beautiful as Leela’s, but for now, here is the modified recipe I used… enjoy!

Ingredients

1 lb ground pork

5 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced

2 shallots, peeled and minced

1 red bird’s eye chili, seeded and minced

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp fish sauce

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp hoisin sauce

1 Tbsp oyster sauce

1 C basil leaves

Directions

1. Heat the olive oil in a skillet or wok on medium high heat. Add in the minced garlic, chilies and shallots, and stir fry for 2 minutes (until fragrant).

2. Add in the pork and stir to break up (otherwise, it will cook in one big clump!).

3. Add the sauces (fish, soy, hoisin, oyster), and cook, stirring every 30-40 seconds, until meat is fully cooked.

4. Turn off the heat and stir in the basil leaves. Note: Make sure to add these at the end as you want them to wilt, but not to fully cook.

5. Serve over rice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

