Creamed Corn Casserole

Creamed Corn CasseroleOf course Thanksgiving won’t be the same this year with my husband and I living in Hong Kong, thousands of miles away from our family and old friends. Nonetheless, we are going to an expat Thanksgiving potluck, which will have a jerk turkey!

There are so many dishes that come to mind when I think of the perfect Thanksgiving, so I turned to my mother and sister for advice on what to bring. Green bean casserole? Pumpkin cheesecake? Roasted brussel sprouts and bacon?

Here’s the note I got back from my sister: “Corn casserole is always a hit.  I made it today for our church potluck and I am making it again for Thanksgiving.  It is so easy and everyone always loves it.

My sister is often right about many things and she didn’t let me down this time! Everytime she makes corn casserole for a family event, it’s one of the first dishes to go. The creamed corn makes the dish sweet, and the cheese makes gives it an extra layer of tasty goodness. I’m so excited to make creamed corn casserole for the first time. It looks delicious and can’t wait to dig in tomorrow night!

Ingredients
2 eggs
16 ounces cream-style corn
16 ounces whole kernel corn, drained
1/2 cup margarine, melted
1 cup sour cream
1 8 1/2 ounce package corn muffin mix
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Beat eggs in a medium-size bowl.  Stir in corn, margarine and sour cream.  Fold in muffin mix.

3. Pour into a greased 9×13 inch pan.  Sprinkle with cheese and bake 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Makes 12 servings.

Enjoy!

Comments
One Response to “Creamed Corn Casserole”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] brought our corn casserole, which was a hit! Other dishes I had more than one serving of: shepherd’s pie and red beet […]



Leave a Reply

