Twist on a Can of Chili

ChiliYou don’t see much chili here in Hong Kong, but it’s a dish that I adore. Now that the weather is cooling down, I’ve unpacked my scarves and sweaters and prepared my palette for hot, delicious comfort food.

Last weekend, my husband and I finally checked out Gateway, paradise for the American expat looking for goods off the shelves of the typical American grocery store. Triscuits – who would have thought they would be so hard to find in Hong Kong? Corned beef hash – forget about it. Log Cabin pancake syrup – good luck! Thank goodness that Gateway has them all.

One of our delights while exploring the aisles of Gateway was picking up two cans of Dennison’s turkey chili. Of course, having canned chili is never as tasty as making it from scratch, but you might be surprised how easily you can freshen up canned food with just a few simple additions. For lunch today, I decided to cook up that can of chili, but with a few twists.

I started by sauteeing some dried garlic in 1 Tbsp olive oil. Then, added a diced yellow bell pepper and sauteed for 2 minutes. To add more flavor, I added 1/2 C chicken broth and simmered the bell pepper until cooked. I added some salt and pepper to taste.

Then, I added in the can of chili, brought to a boil, then turned off the heat. I served over steamed white rice and sprinkled shredded sharp cheddar cheese and fresh basil leaves on top.

The dish was quite tasty and ready in 20 minutes!

Leave a Reply

