Delicious Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Delicious Sour Cream Coffee CakeMy husband and I LOVE coffee cake. When I was in college, I came across a great recipe from Stonewall Kitchen for blueberry sour cream coffee cake. At the time, I didn’t have blueberry jam, so I decided to make a few changes to make this recipe my own.

The original recipe is for a bundt cake. Well, I didn’t happen to have a bundt pan in my college dorm, so I went for a cake pan instead. I also wanted to bake a cake with the crumble-like topping you find so often in coffee shop coffee cakes. Last, but not least, I three in some cinnamon and walnuts for good measure.

Here’s my modified recipe (I didn’t add the nuts when I baked the cake pictured here, so I’ve included them in the recipe as optional)…

Ingredients

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, 3/4 cup softened + 1/4 cup cut into small cubes
  • 2 eggs, beaten lightly
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 Tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp light brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit

2. Butter a 9” cake pan and lightly dust the inside with flour.

3. In a medium sized bowl, cream 1 cup of butter with granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, blending well, then add sour cream and vanilla. Mix until combined.

4. Gently fold in 2 cups flour, baking powder and salt. Stir until just combined, then pour the batter into the prepared cake pan.

5. For the topping, add 1/4 cup flour, light brown sugar and cinnamon to the 1/4 cup of cubed butter in a small bowl. Mix together by hand or cut together using a fork. Add walnuts and mix together. Sprinkle topping mixture evenly over cake batter.

6.  Set pan on middle rack in the oven and bake for about 45-55 minutes, or until the sides of the cake pull away from the pan and a cake tester (or toothpick) inserted in the center comes out clean.

7. Cool in pan for 20 minutes before serving with a nice, hot cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

