Easy Creamed Spinach

DSC_0422Creamed spinach has always been one of my dad’s favorite things to eat alongside a good steak. Growing up, I didn’t take to it, but now I LOVE it. I decided to make some to serve with meatloaf and found this an easy and delicious recipe!

I started with Ree Drummond’s recipe for creamed spinach. There are two listed, I tried the second one, but with a few tweaks:

1. I added mushrooms. So, this recipe should really be “Easy Creamed Spinach and Mushrooms.”

2. I used three bags of spinach instead of four.

3. I used only a 1/4 cup of butter instead of a whole stick (1/2 cup).

4. I made this a one pan dish by adding the spinach directly to my cream sauce (instead of sautéeing it in a separate pan).

5. I added a teaspoon of sugar to deepen the flavor.

Here’s my modified recipe…

Ingredients

1/4 C butter

1/4 C flour

1 yellow onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 C sliced white mushrooms

2 C whole milk

3 bags baby spinach

Salt

Pepper

Directions

1. In a large pan, melt butter over medium-high heat.

2. Add flour and cook until light brown.

3. Add onion, garlic and mushrooms and sauté until cooked (or mostly cooked).

4. Stir in milk making sure you are stirring fast enough to avoid making your cream sauce lumpy.

5. Bring to a boil, then turn down to medium or medium-low.

6. Dump in one bag of spinach at a time. Stir until it starts to wilt. Then add next bag. (Note: You don’t want to overcook the spinach. There should still be substance to it).

7. Add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

