English Muffin Pizzas – Cooking with Toddlers

DSC_0465I’ve always loved cooking and have many fond memories of cooking with my mom as a kid. It was only a matter of time before I would invite my kids into the kitchen and I decided it’s time for my 21-month old to start experimenting with food. Though it probably seems too early to some, my daughter loves texture, tastes and doing easy tasks. All of these are perfect for cooking!

I spent a few days scouring the Internet, talking to my mom and thinking back to my own childhood and chose three easy recipes for us to make together on a Saturday. English muffin pizzas is the first of the three.

I went straight to the source – Thomas’ website and pulled their English Muffin Pizza recipe. With a few variations, here’s the recipe we used…

Ingredients

3 double fiber English muffins

1 C pizza sauce (I bought a jar of Classico Pizza Sauce from Target)

1-2 C shredded cheese (I bought the three cheese medley from Trader Joe’s)

2 slices of ham, cut into strips

Directions

1. Line a pan with foil and preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

2. Cut English muffins in half and place all six halves on covered pan

3. Spoon 2 Tbsp of pizza sauce onto each muffin. Ask your toddler to spread them with a small wooden spoon

4. Ask your toddler to top each muffin with shredded cheese (this was my daughter’s favorite part)

5. Ask your toddler to place 4 strips of ham on each muffin

6. Bake in the oven 5-10 minutes, until cheese is melted. Enjoy!

Additional toppings to try: olives, mushrooms, bell pepper slices or diced, pineapple, pepperoni

Leave a Reply

