Thai Cuisine

Pad Ka-PraoMy parents recently came to visit from the U.S. and we took a quick 6-day trip to Phuket during their stay in Asia. It was my first time to Thailand and I couldn’t wait to eat Thai food at every meal. I have an unhealthy obsession with Thai food, to be honest. Anytime a colleague asks, “Where should we go to lunch?”, I say “Thai!”

We stayed at Marriott’s Phuket Beach Club, which is co-located with the JW Marriott Phuket. The resort was amazing. I highly recommend it!

Even better, the resort has it’s own cooking school: Ginja Cook School. My Mom and I were looking forward to taking a class or two, but unfortunately, between our day trip to the Phi Phi Islands, our dive trip to Racha Yai and Racha Noi and a quick tour of Phuket Town, we ran out of time.

If you’re heading to Phuket, I highly recommend taking a day trip to the Phi Phi Islands. We bought into a full day tour traveling out by speedboat, snorkeling, lunch and snacks, swimming, a visit to Maya Bay (where part of The Beach was filmed) and a short hike.

Monkey Beach   Monkey Beach

Maya BayMaya Bay

Despite not having time to learn the art of Thai cooking from the Thais, I had plenty of time to eat Thai cuisine. Pictured above is one of my favorite dishes, Pad Ka-Prao. I also had some lovely curries (red and green) and, of course, Pad Thai.

Green Chicken CurryGreen Curry Chicken

Red Tofu CurryRed Tofu Curry

Pad ThaiPad Thai

This was such a wonderful eating vacation that I was truly sad to come home. Taking a cooking class will be my top priority next time I’m in Thailand. In the meantime, if you have any recipes to share, please do!

Leave a comment